The Wild Atlantic Way

On Saturday 29th May, MCF trustee Simon Anderson is setting off on an epic 2000 mile cycle tour to raise funds for MCF. 

Simon will be setting off from the Shipley Bikery at 9.00am to complete the first leg of his journey from Shipley to Bikenhead to catch his overnight ferry to Belfast. Over the course of 27 days Simon will be covering around 2000 miles which is an average of 74 miles per day. 

Simon is covering all the costs of the trip himself so every penny raised in sponsorship will go to the charity.

If you would like to sponsor Simon his fundraising page is here.

In addition simon will be posting regular video updates on his you tube channel and will update the route on strava each day. 

The Itinerary

Date Destination Distance Rating
Saturday 29 May Birkenhead 84.4 Difficult
Sunday 30 May Portrush 84.2 Difficult
Monday 31st May Buncrana 59.9 Easy
Tuesday 1 June Portsalon 63.3 Moderate
Wednesday 2 June Bunbeg 61.5 Moderate
Thursday 3 June Donegal 61.8 Moderate
Friday 4 June Sligo 53.3 Easy
Saturday 5 June Ballina 66.9 Moderate
Sunday 6 June Bellmullet 58.1 Easy
Monday 7 June Westport 74 Moderate
Tuesday 8 June Clfden 72.5 Moderate
Wednesday 9 June Galway 72.2 Moderate
Thursday 10 June Kilkee 105 Difficult
Friday 11 June Limerick 104 Difficult
Saturday 12 June Dingle 103 Difficult
Sunday 13 June Killorglin 33.1 Easy
Monday 14 June  Portmagee 36.5 Easy
Tuesday 15 June Kenmare 56.9 Easy
Wednesday 16 June Bantry 93 Difficult
Thursday 17 June Clonakilty 87.6 Difficult
Friday 18 June Cork 45.5 Easy
Saturday 19 June Waterford 95.6 Difficult
Sunday 20 June Wexford 71.6 Moderate
Monday 21 June Dublin 89.9 Difficult
Tuesday 22 June Newcastle 86.1 Difficult
Wednesday 23 June Belfast 84.9 Difficult
Thursday 24 June  HOME 84.4 Difficult